Experimental writing in Spain, 1963-1983

16 Oct 2014 - 11 Jan 2015
Circulo de Bellas Artes, Madrid
Curated by:
Javier Maderuelo

In the early 1960s, Spain witnessed the emergence of new aesthetic, plural and diverse practices that can be described as ‘experimental’, a term that was then of particular significance since it encompassed the work of writers, poets, musicians, filmmakers and artists, many of them working in isolation to some degree, who used letters, words and texts as vehicles for their creative output. Writing is the common denominator of all these artistic and literary expressions. The intention is not to present a specific genre of poetry or writing in this exhibition but to show the effect of dissemination. The aim is not to delimit a particular ambit by showing its most purist roots and its most important manifestations but rather to expand its boundaries by placing the emphasis on diversity and heterogeneity. This exhibition is the result of study and research carried out in the LAFUENTE ARCHIVE, which contains a number of collections and compilations of documents concerning contemporary art, making it possible to trace and pursue various lines of investigation that provide first-hand knowledge of the flow of ideas, acts, events and happenings that have shaped the history of modern and contemporary art from the Avant-garde to postmodernity. And it has exposed a problem: most of the work by these creative figures is still unpublished; only some of their pieces have been shown for a brief period in exhibitions; others have been reproduced in a fragmentary and rough form in magazines and anthologies; and lastly, there are those that have never been seen at all.

Artists: Jorge Oteiza, José Antonio Sistiaga, Javier Aguirre, Juan Eduardo Cirlot, Joan Brossa, Josep Maria Mestres Quadrey, Julio Campal, Fernando Millán, Ignacio Gómez de Liaño, Manolo Quejido, Herminio Molero, Alain Arias-Misson, Elena Asins, Zaj, José Luis Castillejo, Esther Ferrer, Francisco Pino, Felipe Boso, Guillem Viladot, José-Miguel Ullán, Isidoro Valcárcel Medina, Concha Jerez, Eduardo Scala.